Transformed

image

It’s days like today when I haven’t been in Gentle Hands for nearly 6 months that I find so much joy in realizing the transformations of all these kids. All have grown both in height and knowledge. With the same welcoming faces and cuddles greeting me with “you home Ate”.

Last time I was here I cared for and was “mom” to a 2 and half year old weighing merely 5kg the weight a 3 month old baby should. And in these three weeks I went from caring for a “baby” with zero muscle to even put his arms up and having no emotion. Being sick, diarrhea, vomiting, Poo explosions. Very long every 2nd hourly feeds which would take 45 mins just for one and between he would sleep and cuddle on my chest. This little lifeless child who in all honesty we weren’t sure would make it. But he came through the other end with a smile on his face able to put his hands up to be held, no diarrhea nor vomiting. He wanted to eat and would do so in a short 5 minutes and afterwords be able to stay awake for extended periods.
Now nearly 6 months later, he is walking, talking (learning to), playing as a child would and be so so full of life. And to say the least Iam so incredibly moved by the miracle that this child is.

When I picked him up today he gave me the same cuddle that he did the first day I picked him up.

 

Leave a comment